Personal Finance

If it makes you happy

The other night I went to karaoke with a group of friends. One friend sung this song by Sheryl Crow,

If it makes you happy
It can’t be that bad
If it makes you happy
Then why the hell are you so sad?

And it made me think about how cool emergency funds are (not what you were expecting huh?) I firmly believe in spending my money on what makes me happy, and if it makes me happy it can’t be that bad, right? The cool thing about emergency funds though is when you reflect on the question of why am I so sad the answer can be ‘I don’t have to be’ and I’ll take action to correct course ASAP. Maybe that action is finding a new job or a new living situation but more than that emergency funds bring peace of mind. The truly cool part is when you can make these choices because you want to and not because you have to.

Emergency funds are just that cool. Why are you so sad? I’m not because my emergency fund allowed me to easily live like this for a whole month:

wp-1489700303140.jpg

Leave a Reply

